FB background location tracking change

Facebook is rolling out a brand new change in the android version of the app, which will permit users to opt out of background location tracking.


Previously, the Facebook app for android either allows you to keep location services off or on. The latter additionally allowed the app to trace and save your location perpetually, even if the app wasn’t in use, especially when using options like nearby Friends.


With this new feature, if you select to modify location services, you may now get another choice that will allow you to disable background location tracking. This basically restricts the location tracking to when you are actually within the app and stops when you quit the app.


The ability to limit apps from only using location information whereas using the app has been present in iOS for a longtime now; however android has no such option. This is why this new feature is restricted to the android version of the app, as iOS users will just make use of the option built-into the OS.


Facebook will be showing a notification on the timeline that will alert users of this new feature. Your current settings will remain the way they’re even after the new feature rolls out. Therefore if you had them off, they’ll stay off however if you had them on you can currently opt to limit it to whereas using the app only.